The University of California Institute for Research in the Arts supports embedded arts research through critical exchange

UCLA TFT alums nab 2014 Primetime Emmy nominations

originally posted by UCLA Newsroom
July 14, 2014

When Mindy Kaling (Fox’s “The Mindy Project”) and Carson Daly (NBC’s “The Voice”) announced the nominees for the 66th Primetime Emmy Awards in the early morning of Thurs., July 10, live from the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences in North Hollywood, three UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television alumni found themselves on the coveted list.

First-time Emmy nominee MITCHELL CANNOLD (BA, ’71) is the executive producer of the critically acclaimed Fox/NatGeo documentary “Cosmos: A SpaceTime Odyssey,” a follow-up to the highly regarded 1980 television series “Cosmos: A Personal Voyage,” which was presented by the late Carl Sagan.

Seven-time Emmy winner LOUIS J. HORVITZ (BA, ’68) has received his 18th nomination, in the category of Outstanding Directing for a Variety Special, for his direction of “The Kennedy Center Honors” on CBS. He took home the award last year for directing “The Kennedy Center Honors.”

In 2013, digital effects supervisor ANDREW ORLOFF (BA, ’93) was nominated for his digital effects work on TNT’s “Falling Skies.” This year, he has received his ninth Emmy nomination, for his work on the CW’s “The 100.”

The 66th Primetime Emmy Awards will be handed out on Monday, Aug. 25 at the Nokia Theater in downtown Los Angeles. Seth Meyers, comedian and star of NBC’s “Late Night With Seth Meyers,” will be the host.

Posted in: News