The University of California Institute for Research in the Arts supports embedded arts research through critical exchange

UC Davis University Chorus

12/02/2011 7:00 PM
UCD Jackson Hall Standard


Jeffrey Thomas, conductor
Cecilia Leitner, soprano
Danielle Reutter-Harrah, mezzo-soprano
Eric Jurenas, countertenor
Brian Thorsett, tenor
Robert Stafford, baritone
Steven Bailey, organ
Bach Magnificat in D Major, BWV 243
Handel Ode for St. Cecilia’s Day


Bach’s Magnificat was orchestrated for a large ensemble (for its time), including three trumpets, two flutes, two oboes, strings, a five-part chorus, and five soloists. Although originally written in E-flat major in 1723 for Christmas Vespers as part of a re-working of cantatas in Leipzig, Bach revised the Magnificat (in D major) ten years later for Easter. Today, this joyous work is often performed without association with either holiday.

Posted in: News