The University of California Institute for Research in the Arts supports embedded arts research through critical exchange

NEA National Heritage Fellows to Perform in Free Concert at George Washington University Lisner Auditorium on October 4, 2012

Date & Time: Thursday, October 4, 2012, 7:30 pm
Location: George Washington University’s Lisner Auditorium, 21st Street NW in Washington, DC

Live webcast of concert available at

Recipients also to be honored at Awards Ceremony on October 3, 2012

Washington, D.C. – At its heart, the folk and traditional arts are rooted in the cultural practices of a particular community, whether it’s Texas’s Tejano music, the boatbuilding traditions of coastal Massachusetts, or the gospel music of Tidewater Virginia. On Thursday, October 4, 2012 at 7:30 p.m. EDT, communities around the country and world will be able to experience these art forms and more as a group of our nation’s top folk and traditional artists take the stage for the annual NEA National Heritage Fellowships Concert, which will be webcast live at and open to the public. Nick Spitzer, host of public radio’s American Routes, will emcee this evening of conversations, demonstrations, and performances, featuring the 2012 NEA National Heritage Fellows, recipients of the nation’s highest honor in the folk and traditional arts.

The 2012 NEA National Heritage Fellowship recipients are:
Mike Auldridge, Dobro Player (Silver Spring, MD)
Paul & Darlene Bergren, Dog Sled and Snowshoe Designers and Builders (Minot, ND)
Harold A. Burnham, Master Shipwright (Essex, MA)
Albert B. Head, Traditional Arts Advocate (Montgomery, AL)*
Leonardo “Flaco” Jiménez, Tejano Accordion Player (San Antonio, TX)
Lynne Yoshiko Nakasone, Okinawan Dancer (Honolulu, HI)
Molly Neptune Parker, Passamaquoddy Basketmaker (Princeton, ME)
The Paschall Brothers, Tidewater Gospel Quartet (Chesapeake, VA)
Andy Statman, Klezmer Clarinetist, Mandolinist, Composer (Brooklyn, NY)

* Albert B. Head is the recipient of the Bess Lomax Hawes NEA National Heritage Fellowship award. The Bess Lomax Hawes Award recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to the preservation and awareness of cultural heritage.

Profiles of the artists are available in the Lifetime Honors section of the NEA’s website, along with photos, audio, and video samples of their work.

NEA National Heritage Fellowships Concert
The NEA National Heritage Fellowships Concert will be held at George Washington University’s Lisner Auditorium at 730 21st Street NW in Washington, DC. This concert will be webcast live at with an archive available following the event.

Free tickets to this concert are available online at or in person at the George Washington University Lisner Auditorium Box Office at 730 21st Street NW in Washington, DC, and the House of Musical Traditions, 7040 Carroll Avenue, Takoma Park, Maryland.

PLEASE NOTE: All unclaimed tickets will be released 15 minutes before the concert.

NEA National Heritage Fellowships Awards Ceremony
In addition to the concert, the NEA will also hold the National Heritage Fellowship Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, October 3, 2012 at 5:00 p.m. in Room 119 of the Library of Congress’s Thomas Jefferson Building at 1st Street SE, between Independence Avenue and East Capitol Street in Washington, DC. NEA Chairman Rocco Landesman and members of Congress will present the awards to the recipients. This event is open to the public.

For more information about this event:

Posted in: News