The University of California Institute for Research in the Arts supports embedded arts research through critical exchange

L.A. Rebellion: Creating a New Black Cinema presented at UC Los Angeles

We proudly present more than 50 representative works from this landmark era of Black student filmmakers at UCLA. Many screenings will feature rare filmmaker appearances and brand new prints struck for the first time in decades.

Friday, October 7, 2011- Saturday, December 17, 2011
Billy Wilder Theater, UC Los Angeles

IN-PERSON:

Ben Caldwell (Thursday, October 27; Saturday, December 17); Larry Clark (Saturday, December 10); Julie Dash (Friday, October 7; Saturday, November 12; Saturday, November 19; Saturday, December 17); Zeinabu irene Davis (Saturday, October 8; Sunday, October 9; Sunday, November 20); Jamaa Fanaka (Friday, October 14; Friday, October 28; Friday, December 16); Jacqueline Frazier (Friday, October 21); Haile Gerima (Sunday, October 23); Ted Lange (Saturday, December 10); O.Funmilayo Makarah (Sunday, October 9); Barbara McCullough (Sunday, October 9); Robert Wheaton (Thursday, October 13); Billy Woodberry (Saturday, October 22).

Beginning in the late 1960s, a number of promising African and African American students entered the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television, recruited under a concerted initiative to be more responsive to various communities of color. From that first class through the late 1980s, and continuing well beyond their college days, these filmmakers came to represent the first sustained undertaking to forge an alternative Black Cinema practice in the United States. Along the way, they created fascinating, provocative and visionary films that have earned an impressive array of awards and accolades at festivals around the world, in addition to blazing new paths into the commercial market.

Occasionally called the “Los Angeles School of Black Filmmakers,” and perhaps more frequently “L.A. Rebellion,” the group’s significance is too far reaching to be fairly contained by any one name. In this exhibition, we proudly present more than fifty representative works that range from well-known films securely in the canon, to others seldom seen since school days. This series reveals a panoply of visions that do honor to individuals and the collective. Many films are presented here in new prints and restorations undertaken by UCLA Film & Television Archive.

Series programmed by Allyson Nadia Field, Jan-Christopher Horak, Shannon Kelley and Jacqueline Stewart.

“L.A. Rebellion: Creating a New Black Cinema” is part of Pacific Standard Time: Art in L.A. 1945-1980. This unprecedented collaboration, initiated by the Getty, brings together more than sixty cultural institutions from across Southern California for six months beginning October 2011 to tell the story of the birth of the L.A. art scene.

For more information: http://www.cinema.ucla.edu/events/2011-10-07/la-rebellion-creating-new-black-cinema

Posted in: News

+ PRINT PAGE - BACK