The University of California Institute for Research in the Arts supports embedded arts research through critical exchange

Community Foundation Update (9/24/11)

by Philanthropy News Digest

September 24, 2011


The San Francisco Foundation has announced the winners of its 2011 Community Leadership Award, which recognizes people and organizations that have made a significant impact in their Bay Area community. This year, Bishop Yvette A. Flunder, Gonzalo Rucobo, John Santos, and Jordan Simmons will each receive $10,000, while the Ravenswood Family Health Center will receive $20,000.


The Community Foundation of Boulder County has announced that Alexander “Sandy” Bracken, John Creighton, Bill Farrell, Kathy Leonard, Jann Oldhamand, and Amanda Prentiss have joined its board of trustees.


The Miami Foundation has announced the latest cohort of its Miami Fellows leadership development program, which is funded by the W.K. Kellogg and John S. and James L. Knight foundations. The eighteen individuals in the fifteen-month program will work with established leaders to gain a deeper understanding of the critical issues that affect the Greater Miami region.


The Community Foundation of St. Clair County in Port Huron has announced that it has matched its first federal grant to support the restoration of a one-mile stretch of shoreline along the St. Clair River. Last year, the foundation hosted a series of public workshops and organized a bus tour of the Detroit Riverfront Conservancy to help develop a vision for the River Walk Project. It also established a subsidiary company, the Blue Water Land Fund, to own and operate the River Walk and shoreline area, which had been an industrial waste area for nearly a century. The foundation aims to restore the property and make it publically accessible, provide better access for fishing and recreation, build a pedestrian trail or path, and develop a “living shoreline” with as little shoreline hardening as possible.

New York

The New York Community Trust has announced the winners of the 2011 Helen Merrill Playwriting Awards. This year, the Distinguished Playwright award was given to Lisa Kron, while the Emerging Playwright award was shared by Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, Dorothy Fortenberry, Dan LeFranc, and Radha Blank. All five winners will receive $20,000 each.


The Greater Cincinnati Foundation has announced grants to 129 schools totaling $115,758 through its Learning Links program. Part of the foundation’s Grants for Kids initiative, Learning Links provides grants of up to $1,000 for creative programs or events for classrooms in the region. Recipients this year include Campbell Ridge Elementary School, where fourth-graders will learn about child slavery in Haiti from a former child slave; Delhi Middle School, which has created a book club designed to encourage seventh- and eighth-grade boys to read; and Fairfield Elementary school, which has established an autism awareness library.


The Nashville-based Community Foundation of Middle Tennessee has announced new advisory board members and chairs for its Women’s and Tomorrow funds. The Women’s Fund elected Sherry Winn Howell to serve as chair and added Elizabeth Akers, Holly Coltea, Katherine DeLay, Beth Higham, Collins Weaver Hooper, Tami Johnston, Mimi Vaughn, and Mandy Haynes Young to the board. The Tomorrow Fund appointed Nicholas May as executive committee president and added Margaret Baker, Kerry Conley, Jane Lynch Crain, Christi Gibbs, Julie Haag, Brandon Keane, Samantha Oaks, Katherine Pace, Ben Shuster, Mike Stewart, Jason Tucker, Kimball Tyson, and Patrick Walsh to the committee.

Read more:

Posted in: News